January 6th, 2010
Are you looking for a marketing job? Are you an expert in SEO, SEM or Analytics? If you are in the Chicago area and are looking for a marketing position please let us know. Recruiters (employment agencies and human resource staff) are reaching out to us to help them find employees, both contact and permanent.
Please fill out the contact form on our marketing home page for more information.
Thank you and Happy New Year!
Posted in Internet Marketing | 3 Comments »
December 6th, 2009
Everybody knows what a click-through conversion is. Just in case you don’t, here’s what it is: If somebody clicks on an ad and makes a purchase that’s considered a click-through conversion.
View-through conversion is what happens when somebody sees your ad (but does not click on it) and later on (usually within 30 days) makes a purchase on your site.
The fact is that not everybody clicks on an ad (in fact most people don’t) but that doesn’t mean they won’t remember you or your ad when searching for the product you were advertising.
More than likely when it’s time to make a purchase they’ll probably go to Google and do a search for the product. If they see your paid search ad and click on it (within the 30 days) this could be credited as a view-through conversion as well as a paid search conversion.
FYI, Google added view-through conversion tracking to their content network ads in October, 2009.
For more information on view-through conversions and why they are so important, please feel free to contact us.
www.drol.com
Tags: Analytics, banner advertising, Display Advertising, impressions, re-targeting, retargeting, view-through conversion, view-through conversion tracking, VTR
Posted in Analytics, Display Advertising, Internet Marketing | No Comments »
December 5th, 2009
Google Voice, as of this writing is available by invitation only, is a new service from Google. It’s an amazing service. Find the link to Google Voice at the bottom of this article.
You can use your existing number or you can get a free Google phone number. You can type in letters (like DROL) and it will display available Google vanity phone numbers that contain those letters. Our phone number (650-200-DROL) is a real-life example of this. Did I mention it’s free?
Here are some of the things we like about it:
Free vanity phone number: Google lets you type in any combination of letters and numbers and attempts to give you a phone number with those characters. We wanted DROL in our phone number and were given 30 choices. We chose 650-200-DROL (3765).
Free phone calls: You can program your cell phone to dial all calls through your Google number. If you have a “friends and family” plan you can add your Google phone number to that list and you basically get unlimited phone calls at no extra charge.
Voice mail: Voice mail is transcribed and sent to you by email. If it can’t transcribe it, you still get an email alert that you have a voice mail.
Call screening: No more calls from Unknown or Private callers. You can program your Google number to have unknown or private callers identify themselves. Google then calls you and tells you who is on the line, and gives you the option of taking the call or sending it to voice mail.
Droid integration: We realize not everybody has a Droid phone but we do and the integration between Google Voice and the phone are fantastic.
You can find out more about Google Voice by going to http://www.google.com/googlevoice/about.html.
Visit www.DROL.com to find out how we can help with all your online marketing needs.
Tags: free phone service, google voice, skype, vanity number, vanity phone number, voice mail
Posted in Free Stuff, Internet Marketing | 1 Comment »
December 5th, 2009
We use SEO Book’s suite of cool SEO tools for Firefox and we highly recommend it.
The toolbar includes important SEO tools including Google Page Rank, Yahoo inbound links, Search Engine Ranking Checker and competitive analysis tools including Compete.com and Quantcast.
These tools will not fix your SEO issues (we can help with that) but they can certainly identify problems.
Please contact us to find out how we can help you increase your SEO rankings.
Tags: compete.com, google page rank, quantcast, seo, seo book, seo for firefox, seo tools, serps, yahoo links
Posted in Free Stuff, Internet Marketing, SEO Tools | 13 Comments »
December 1st, 2009
Do you want to figure out how many new accounts you might acquire from a display (banner) advertising campaign? We’ve created a CPA calculator that will let you do just that.
The CPA Calculator lets you input a few variables (# of impressions, estimated click rate and conversion) and displays a cost per acquisition along with other interesting tidbits.
You can download the calculator by going to our free marketing tools page and click on the “CPA Calculator.xls” link.
Note: The CPM to CPA calculator does not take into consideration such things as view-through conversions or increases to trademarked search that can (and probably will) result from running a display campaign.
If you’d like to find out how we can help you reduce your CPA please contact us.
Tags: banner advertising, clickthrough rate, conversion, CPA, cpa calculator, CTR, Display Advertising, impressions, lower cpa
Posted in Display Advertising, Free Stuff, Internet Marketing | 2 Comments »
November 30th, 2009
Most display advertising is quoted as a CPM (cost per 1000 impressions). For example a website might quote you 100,000 impressions at a $18 CPM. This means that you’d pay $1800 for the ad buy (100,000 divided by 18 = $1800).
That might sound reasonable but the question you might ask is how many customers might you expect to acquire from that ad buy? Once you know that you can figure out your cost per acquisition (CPA).
Here’s what you need to calculate estimated CPA.
Number of impressions
Estimated clickthrough rate (CTR) – the site can give you that. If they can’t or won’t give you that – you can use .1%
Estimated conversion (you should know this)
Here are the calculations:
Number of impressions multiplied by estimated CTR gives you an idea of how many visitors you’ll get from the campaign. In the above example that number is: 100 (100,000 * .1% = 100)
In the above example you’d get 100 visitors. If your conversion rate is 3% then multiply visitors by conversion rate (100 * 3% = 3) That means you’d acquire 3 new customers from the ad buy.
Hmm…. Doesn’t sound so good. There are a lot of things you can do to improve banner campaigns, such as behavioral, geo, time of day. We can help you make the best of your ad buys. Just contact us for more information.
Tags: conversion, CPA, CPM, CTR
Posted in Internet Marketing | No Comments »
November 29th, 2009
Retargeting (or leadback) is the process in which you display ads to people that visited your site, but did not make a purchase (aka a conversion). This is accomplished via cookies.
As your customer surfs the web your ads they’ll start to see your ads.
So let’s say this customer sees your ad and subsequently (typically within 30 days) makes a purchase. When a purchase is completed the system stops displaying banners to the customer (and also registers the conversion).
There is a lot more to retargeting than the above. If you’d like to find out how retargeting can help your business (and it can), please contact us!
www.DROL.com
Tags: conversion, lead-back, leadback, re-targeting, retargeting
Posted in Display Advertising, Internet Marketing, retargeting | No Comments »
November 29th, 2009
SEO Elite is truly great software.
It allows you to analyze links to your competitors sites (whom you can then contact to link to your site).
It helps you identify potential affiliates.
It also lets you track (over time) your keyword rankings (where you show up on Google and other search engines) which tells you if your placement is improving.
It even lets you verify (in an automated manner) whether your link partners are still linking to you.
It does a lot more, but I’d suggest you visit SEO Elite to get all the details.
Tags: seo, seo elite
Posted in Internet Marketing, SEO Tools, Search Engine Optimization | 4 Comments »
November 29th, 2009
Their are many factors to consider when optimizing a site for SEO. Content and “popularity” and among the most important. Sure, title, meta descriptions and other tags are important but if your content doesn’t work and if your site is not popular, the odds of your ranking well (e.g. at the top of the search engine results) are slim to none.
In this article we’ll talk about content and how it relates to your search engine optimization strategy.
What is content? It’s tags (e.g. H1) and formatting (e.g. bold) and it’s the words on a page. These words can be editorial type content (e.g. wikipedia.org) or product listings (e.g. ZebraTickets.com). The content needs to be unique and should help the search engine understand what the page is all about.
In the above example, Zebra Tickets is selling Taylor Swift tickets and that’s quite obvious to the user (and hence the search engine). To summarize, if the point of a page is clear to your visitor it will probably be clear to the search engine (note: there are exceptions to this rule).
If you’d like to find out how DROL can help you implement a Search Engine Optimization strategy, please contact us.
Tags: search engine optimization, seo
Posted in Internet Marketing, Search Engine Optimization | 4 Comments »